Home > Uncategorized > My Memento of April 18, 2013

My Memento of April 18, 2013

Yesterday Friday, April 19th I first woke up in the hospital room and saw my wife Mary  by my bedside and asked “What happened?” She gave me a piece of paper which I read out. I recognized that it was own handwriting that said “Por que estoy aca? Fui a buscar la pelota y me cai como un tontito!”  which meant “Why am I here? I went to fetch the ball and fell like a little fool.”  Looking around, I was in my basketball jersey with a bruises at my left hand and left cheek.

scan0001

Mary said I went to my weekly basketball game at the local sports facility. She got a call from them late at night. They informed her that I was taken to the hospital after falling and hitting my cheek flat on the concrete. Gaston, the basketball coordinator at the facility, and good friend told Mary the events. He said that I went to fetch the ball that went off court and I fell but I did not lose consciousness. The guys helped me back on my feet and I still played for another 10 minutes. But Gaston noticed something was wrong with my movements. So he asked me two questions which I responded nonsense. That time the doctor at the facility decided to call an ambulance and take me to the hospital. Gaston accompanied me until Mary arrived.

I don’t remember any of those events, in fact I don’t remember the whole day!  When I try to think and remember anything, I felt a burning sensation at the back of my head and a little ache on the right side of the front head. Mary said that everytime I would wake up I would ask the same question, and that she would hand me the piece of paper which I wrote.  I could remember some things but they seemed like part of a dream or just flashes of pictures in my head.

Now I’m ok and I’m grateful to the guys at the sports facility and especially Gaston. My funny recollection – I was taken to another hospital where there was NMR where they can further get imaging of my head. As I woke up in the other hospital room, I saw my wife in white and my sister-in-law Jacky dressed in black looking down straight at me and I asked her “Have you come already for me? Do I know you?”. Jacky said “I’m Pamela David.” referring to an Argentine actress/model.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

